top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrady Spann

Land Protection Update: Lincoln Lake

Updated: Jul 5, 2023

I wanted to share some exciting news about our efforts to preserve the natural beauty of Northwest Arkansas with our partnership with the city of Lincoln and the Arkansas Parks and Recreation Foundation to forever protect Lincoln Lake while growing access to outdoor recreation for all.

The lake is not only a stunning spot known for its incredible rock-climbing routes, but also offers great opportunities for fishing, kayaking, hiking, and mountain biking. I encourage you to explore and enjoy the 400-acre property soon! You can get directions and more information on the lake from the Department of Parks, Heritage, and Tourism at this link.

By securing a conservation easement for the lake, the city is making an investment in its outdoor recreation economy, protecting water quality in the Illinois River Watershed, and forever safeguarding important native habitats. The Land Trust's conservation work at the lake is made possible through a grant from the Walton Family Foundation at the recommendation of Steuart Walton and Tom Walton. You can learn more about Lincoln Lake and our conservation work by listening to a recent segment on Ozarks at Large. Click here to listen.

Community-fueled support is instrumental in driving our progress. With your help, we can continue to accelerate land conservation efforts not only at Lincoln Lake but at other cherished places throughout NWA. Your generosity will make a real difference in saving these breathtaking landscapes for future generations to enjoy. We would be honored to have you as a partner.

About Northwest Arkansas Land Trust

The Northwest Arkansas Land Trust (NWALT) is the region's first local and accredited land trust dedicated to enhancing the quality of life through permanent land protection. By holding and managing donated land and providing conservation easement services, the Land Trust protects water quality, local farms, wildlife habitats, and places for outdoor recreation while enhancing the quality of life for today and future generations. The service area of the Land Trust includes 13 counties in Northwest Arkansas, with a core focus on Benton, Carroll, Madison, and Washington counties.


bottom of page